I've had this happen before with other billers. I don't think it's just a Verotel issue and I don't think it's something you also can directly lay blame on any biller. There could have been a server hiccup on either end during a routine remove request.
It's always best to do due diligence and clean up your user/pass lists every so often.
I don't think it's something you also can directly lay blame on any biller. There could have been a server hiccup on either end during a routine remove request.
Hmmm, disagree. As a client I place complete trust in a biller to add and expire paying users from my htpasswd as appropriate. The user management script was still active on my server until at least 22 Jan 2014, which is well past the expiry date (since they couldn't rebill) for those accounts.
Originally posted by ZENRA
It's always best to do due diligence and clean up your user/pass lists every so often.
Agree. Verotel uses randomly generated usernames, so they do stick out, but if a biller allowed members to choose their own details it could be difficult to spot anything out of the ordinary.
When you closed your account on 10 Dec 2013 we stopped writing to your password file. Those users can still be deleted manually from the Verotel Control Center.
When you closed your account on 10 Dec 2013 we stopped writing to your password file. Those users can still be deleted manually from the Verotel Control Center.
This doesn't make sense. Why should I have to manually expire users that are valid at the time you cease processing payments for me? I've looked back over correspondence from mid to late 2013 and cannot find any mention that I would need to do this.
So you close an account and don't tie up the loose ends? That doesn't make much sense to me either... Especially when you know that billers right user/pass to a file stored on your server?
Sorry this was not clear enough, but I would imagine now you have checked over this file and have made the appropriate changes.
So you close an account and don't tie up the loose ends? That doesn't make much sense to me either... Especially when you know that billers right user/pass to a file stored on your server?
What was I supposed to do with the active users at the time Verotel closed the account? Set myself a reminder to manually kill their logins when each was up for renewal? That's the biller's job.
Comment