View Single Post
Old 01-05-2013, 08:52 PM  
DTK
Confirmed User

Industry Role:
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrantMercury View Post
And I stand by my criticism of Libertarians. Most are selfish pricks who flatly refuse to accept we are a society. They'll tell you they were raised by wolves, taught themselves to read & write, and never benefitted from any social program or taxpayer-funded project. They hunt and prepare their own food, home school their kids, have a volunteer fire department in their town, and read Ayn Rand by candlelight in their self-made log cabin. Therefore they're being robbed by the government when they pay taxes. They're certain they're the only ones who get up early and "bust their hump" to live while the rest (or at least 47%) choose to collect welfare and live the high life. And we're supposed to take them seriously.
Alright, just for fun, I'm gonna take these one by one. I've been voting libertarian for 20+ years. If you want to put a simplistic label on me (which you seem fond of doing), you'd label me a pragmatic/progressive libertarian.

Quote:
Most are selfish pricks who flatly refuse to accept we are a society.
I'm no more of a selfish prick than the next guy AND i completely accept and embrace that we are a society.

Quote:
They'll tell you they were raised by wolves, taught themselves to read & write, and never benefitted from any social program or taxpayer-funded project.
I was primarily raised by 3 human women. My mom, grandmother and aunt. As far as I know, no wolves were involved.
My grandmother taught me how to read and write.
I have benefitted from social programs and/or taxpayer-funded projects

Quote:
They hunt and prepare their own food, home school their kids, have a volunteer fire department in their town, and read Ayn Rand by candlelight in their self-made log cabin.
I have done none of these things. Well, I've prepared my own food...

Quote:
Therefore they're being robbed by the government when they pay taxes.